Shark Reef Aquarium

from $20

Location Mandalay Bay

Phone (877) 632-7000

Show Type Aquarium

<p>Shark Reef Aquarium at Mandalay Bay celebrates marine life and some of the world's most exotic predators. Featuring sharks, jellyfish and piranhas, there's a surprise at every turn.</p>

September 2017

Select a date and time

Date Day Available Times

September 21 Thursday

September 22 Friday

September 23 Saturday

September 24 Sunday

September 25 Monday

September 26 Tuesday

September 27 Wednesday

September 28 Thursday

September 29 Friday

September 30 Saturday

October 1 Sunday

October 2 Monday

October 3 Tuesday

October 4 Wednesday

October 5 Thursday

October 6 Friday

October 7 Saturday

October 8 Sunday

October 9 Monday

October 10 Tuesday

October 11 Wednesday

October 12 Thursday

October 13 Friday

October 14 Saturday

October 15 Sunday

October 16 Monday

October 17 Tuesday

October 18 Wednesday

October 19 Thursday

October 20 Friday

October 21 Saturday

October 22 Sunday

September 2017
Prices from: $20.00  and up
Age restriction: No age restriction
Hours of operation:
Main Hours
Monday: 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Tuesday: 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Wednesday: 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Thursday: 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday: 10:00 AM to 10:00 PM
Saturday: 10:00 AM to 10:00 PM
Sunday: 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Cost:
$20 for adults, $18 for seniors, $14 for children 4-12. Children ages 3 and under are admitted free. Nevada residents with proper identification get a discount. Stingray Feed Experience costs $50 per adult and $40 for children (ages 5-12). Sea Turtle Feed Experience and Shark Feed Experience each cost $80 per person and include admission to Shark Reef Aquarium. Participants in the feeding programs can purchase a guided tour for an additional $25. For group rates are also available for parties of 20 or more, please call (702) 632-4555.
Location:
Located at Mandalay Bay hotel-casino near the intersection of the Vegas Strip and Hacienda Avenue.
Payment options:
Cash, MasterCard, Visa, American Express, Discover and traveler's checks.
Valet parking: N/A
Location / Distance from Las Vegas: N/A
Reservations:
The attraction may be rented out for private functions.
Restaurants and food inside the mall: N/A
Travel options: N/A
Age/Height/Weight restrictions:
The Stingray Feed Experience is open to those 5 years of age and older. The Sea Turtle Feed and Shark Feed experiences are open to those 13 years of age and older.
On the way: N/A
Special features: N/A
Amenities: N/A
What you'll need: N/A
Annual visitors/busy season: N/A

A trip to the Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay takes guests on a 14-exhibit journey through a jungle environment into a sunken shipwreck where they will see 2,000 animals, including some of the most dangerous predators in the world. Accredited by the American Zoo and Aquarium Association, the Shark Reef offers a pre-taped tour and has naturalists positioned throughout the exhibit to answer questions.

Some may be surprised to find that the sharks at the Shark Reef -- including a Sandbar shark, a Sandtiger shark and three Sawfish sharks -- are actually not the most dangerous creatures on display there. That title actually goes to the Shark Reef's eight-foot-long Komodo dragon from Indonesia, followed at a close second by the crocodiles.

Another unique feature of the Shark Reef is a touch pool, where guests can pet a variety of fish and rays. The fish are rotated in and out of the touch pool to reduce the amounts of stress generated by the activity.

A staff of 82 operates the Shark Reef on both the animal care and operations side. Each exhibit has a separate filtration system and divers can be found at all times throughout the exhibits scrubbing corals and cleaning algae. One staff member prepares 2,000 meals a day, including a wide variety of foods like chicken, lettuce, nuts, berries, mackerel, jumbo prawn and specialty gels and cakes infused with proteins.